Quatre Messages

Work notes All four pieces must be performed within one concert but should not be programmed consecutively.
Publisher Chester Music Ltd
Category Solo Voice(s) and up to 6 players
Year Composed  1999
Duration 8 Minutes
Soloist 2 Sopranos
Orchestration l, hp
Availability Sale

Programme Note
Quatre Messages (1999)
Le ciel s’est éclairé,
les yeux se sont éteints l’étoile resplendit.
L’homme a passé, l’ombre a disparu,
le prisonnier est libre.

text collage by Kaija Saariaho

The Quatre messages are 4 tiny variations Kaija Saariaho has made from the Mort section of Oltra mar, her work for orchestra and chorus which was premiered 11th November 1999 by the New York Philharmonic and Kurt Masur.