Publisher Chester Music Ltd
Category Solo Voice(s) and up to 6 players
Year Composed  2007
Duration 12 Minutes
Orchestration soprano, cello, piano
Availability Sale

Programme Note
Mirage (2007)

Kaija Saariaho’s Mirage was commissioned by the Orchestre de Paris, BBC Symphony Orchestra and Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin. The world premiere took place on 13 March 2008 in Salle Pleyel, Paris, given by Karita Mattila (soprano), Anssi Karttunen
(cello), with the Orchestre de Paris, conducted by Christoph Eschenbach. This arangement of Mirage for soprano, cello and piano was premiered on 25 July 2010 at Festival des Arcs 2010 in Les Arcs, France, by Pia Freund (soprano), Anssi Karttunen (cello) and Tuija Hakkila (piano).