Caliban’s Dream

Work notes Written as a 50th birthday tribute to Brian Ferneyhough. Part of ‘The Tempest Songbook’
Publisher Chester Music Ltd
Category Solo Voice(s) and up to 6 players
Year Composed  1993
Duration 3 Minutes
Soloist baritone
Orchestration cl/hp/
Alternate Orchestration  afl/hp/vc (1995)
Availability Sale

Programme Note
Caliban’s Dream (1993)

For the celebration of the 50th anniversary of English composer, Brian Ferneyhough, the Nieuw Ensemble from Amsterdam organized a concert in his honour. Several of his ancient students were asked to write a piece for the occasion. Consequently, Kaija Saariaho’s piece was written, using a textual extract from Shakespeare’s, The Storm.